COUNTY OF HAWAII MASS TRANSPORTATION AGENCY

RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE COUNTY OF HAWAII MASS TRANSPORTATION AGENCY

Interior Bus Advertising

- A. Requests for renting or letting of advertising space inside County operated buses shall be authorized by the County of Hawaii's Mass Transportation Administrator in accordance with the following rules and regulations:
 - 1. The following types of advertising shall **not** be accepted:
 - Advertising which bears the name, signature, picture or likeness
 of any elected federal, state or city official or of any candidate for
 federal, state or city elective office;
 - Advertising which, by reason of design, format or subject matter,
 promotes or appeals to racial, religious or ethnic prejudice or
 violence;
 - Advertising which contains pictures, words or symbols of an obscene, lewd, lascivious or indecent character;
 - d. Advertising which promotes any illegal, indecent or immoral purpose; and
 - e. Advertising of any product or service which is prohibited by law
 to be sold or offered for sale to minors or an age-based subgroup
 of minors.

- 2. Each person or business organization who wishes to display advertisements inside County of Hawaii owned buses shall submit a sample or sketch of the advertisement, a notarized advertising agreement furnished by the County of Hawaii Mass Transportation Agency, and the fee established herein for such advertising.
- 3. Prior to installation of advertising cards, payment shall be paid in full by business imprinted checks, certified checks, or money orders prior to advertising. Personal checks will not be accepted.
 - 4. Authorized checks shall be made out to the County Director of Finance.
- 5. A twenty-dollar service charge shall be charged to the advertiser for Checks returned because of insufficient funds.
- 6. All interior displays cards shall be eleven (11) inches by twenty-eight (28) inches or eleven (11) inches by twenty-four (24) inches, dependent upon the available advertising space. Each card shall be printed on .18 stock with grain running horizontally so that cards can be held in place, top and bottom, by flanges in the rack and on sides by steel/vinyl straps. All printed material should be kept at least 3/4 inches from top, bottom and sides of card.
- 7. The fee schedule for monthly advertising cost per bus, per card for each separate advertising slot in the interior of County operated buses shall be:

	One Month	Three Months	Six Months	Nine Months	Twelve Months
Effective	\$10.00	\$9.50	\$9.00	\$8.50	\$8.00

- * If an agreed upon contract term spans two rate periods, the advertising costs shall be pro-rated on a monthly basis.
- 8. The County shall charge a rate of one dollar per card for each request, by the advertiser, to change their advertising material. However, if a space is rented or let for a continues six month or greater term, the advertiser shall be permitted, free of charge, once during their term, to request the County change their display.
- 9. Acceptance of advertising by the County for display will be on a fleet basis. Accordingly, advertising will not be accepted for particular routes or particular areas.
- 10. Tear off or "take one" attachments and messages that encourage writing on cards such as "word find" games will not be allowed on interior advertising displays.
- 11. It shall be the responsibility of the advertiser, at their own expense, to supply the interior display cards, in an amount equal to one-hundred and twenty percent (120%) of the number of spaces rented, and to deliver such advertising card stock to the Mass Transportation Agency office at least ten (10) days in advance of the agreed upon posting date.
- 12. The advertiser shall agree that they will indemnify and save harmless the County of Hawaii from any and all loss, costs and/or damages resulting from, arising out of, or in connection with any claim or suit against the County of Hawaii by any person, firm, or corporation claiming injury, defamation or libel resulting from any advertising materials placed upon vehicles or the property of the County of Hawaii by the advertiser and/or the advertising company.

- 13. At the discretion of the Mass Transportation Administrator, consideration shall be given to making available reciprocal advertising agreements with other advertising media, such as newspaper, radio and television medians; therefore, affording the County an opportunity for greater dissemination of its transportation service information.
- 14. At the discretion of the Mass Transportation Administrator, tax exempt, not for profit, organizations may be permitted to post public service announcements, free of charge, for a period not to exceed one hundred and eighty (180) days, once per year. The requesting organization may be required to provide documentation of their Internal Revenue Service tax exempt status to the Mass Transportation Administrator.